Career Profile: Samy Tshimanga

Career Profiles
Samy Tshimanga

Samy Tshimanga

WHAT DO YOU DO?

I am a columnist for Dunia Magazine; my column is titled “Young Africans on the Move.” The purpose of the column is to showcase exceptional young adults making a difference in their local communities, here in the US and abroad. I am also a Congolese ambassador for the Music Unites Africa/Empowering African Women Initiative and I am an advocate for girls and young women in a campaign to end child marriage and education inequality.  

HOW DID YOU GET TO WHERE YOU ARE?

To be honest, Twitter is where I got most of my opportunities. For example, a friend of mine who I was doing freelance analyst work with one day called and asked, “How far are you from Atlanta?” He knew someone he thought would be perfect for me to meet. So he passed along my contact information and she contacted me. We found we had the same passion and dedication for Africa. We were both tired of people telling African stories not from the actual source -Africans. Right there, Young Africans on the Move was born.

WHAT IS YOUR ADVICE TO OTHERS WHO ASPIRE TO BE IN YOUR FIELD?

My advice is that you have to create opportunities for yourself and do not wait for someone to email or tweet that they want to work with you. If you are very passionate about something, go for it! Make people see your vision.

Also, networking is key! Whether you attend conferences, forums, and any other type of event. Be prepared to speak about your current interests. Even on social media, like I mentioned, Twitter has connected me with people that I otherwise would not have met just sitting in a classroom. Your presence online is just as important as off-line.

Final piece of advice, love what you do.

Thoughts?

